Me, Myself, and I

Don’t walk behind me, I will not lead. Don’t walk before me, I will not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

What do you really know about someone you follow? Or someone who follows you? You may know how they work, whether they’re efficient or not. You may know what they tend to wear, or at least what they’re wearing today. And you probably know their face, voice, or writing style, but you probably don’t know who they actually are: what they enjoy outside the task at hand, who else they spend time with, or how well they can do other things than what is right in front of you. It is for this reason that I make an effort to live life either guiding or guided. This puts me on a much more personal level with people. I can’t say I stick to it perfectly, but I try.

At this point, I don’t know who has come across this website and this blog, but I have decided that it’s time to share some (and this time a bit more than the “secret” of the book). To start: a poem!

I neither lead nor follow, preferring kind guidance.
I am the long-haired hippy freak with the funny “head bands.”

My body needs sleep despite my ever-running brain.
I embody all energy; live in adrenaline.

I never fit in but am always well-known.
I deny all known rules, using codes who never let down.

I know school is a joke, yet nobody’s laughing.
I’m a true engineer, though my real dream’s camp staffing.

I eat what I want; I’m a bottomless pit.
I never stay still ’til I’m forced to sit.

I feed off of others; Life’s one big competition.
I can talk without end, but I do like to listen.

I’m comically sick as my name clearly states.
I’m often the guy that everyone hates.

Nothing I cross goes ever unmade.
You say I just like it all: I’m the jack of all trades.

Though certainly not inclusive, and definitely contradictory, there is a brief statement of me,
Snots

Leave a Reply

