Hera’s Lullaby

Given a slip containing two lines of poetry, I was set with the task of creating a poem. My prompt addressed what was obviously suggestive of an abusive relationship with words such as “baby,” “venom,” and “antidote.” I, of course, made it my goal to break from such an obvious path. I still found myself restricted, however, by the baby mentioned. The fun alternative: write to an infant! And what infant had a run-in with venom before he even left the cradle?

Cheer up Baby; things weren’t quite that bad –
With every bit of Venom, the Antidote you had.

In the Cradle, sleeping sound:
Zeus’ Deception in every Pound.
Snakes Slither up: Spawn of my Hate;
Your very presence Tempts all the Fates.

Too young you were to notice the Threat
Yet wise Hands of Youth tore ‘part Death’s cold Bet.
Distressed I looked down and Yanked out my hair;
You’d just deepened my dark green Despair.

Years now I’ve waited and plotted Revenge
Sitting in Patience of a soft brooding Tinge.
Your wonderful Wedding helped and procured
New faithful Love and the smell of Death-Assured.

Your Madness then came:
A bold sense of Shame
As wife was lain Slaughtered;
Youthful hands at last Martyred.

Love-Two came and Went
And through her hands we’ve sent
Your deadly Poison:
Your lapse of Reason.

Bright Flames now engulf your once sturdy figure;
The King of Olympus starts to Consider:
His Chaste Queen has failed –
His Bright Bolt must be Hailed.

Finally I notice my bold action’s Flaw:
A Beacon now too, you’ve set a Firm jaw.
Once Mortal and lost
You’ve won at all costs.

Now Begging, I whimper;
I’ll share just what to Remember:
Cheer up Baby; things weren’t quite that bad –
With every Bit of venom, the Antidote you had.

I will admit to a slow turn around in this writing, but my schedule has been hectic. Monday, the 21st (yesterday, two days ago, however you want to refer to that one), I volunteered at Marquette’s blood drive through my community service class. Doing so, I failed to attend class with Mr. Durham, and therefore didn’t get my prompt until today/ yesterday/ Tuesday, the 22nd. I had cross country immediately after school and had to go straight to work from there (Cara remains bewildered by my age and status and has begun fabricating a family for me). Barely into my shift, I received the command to turn in my poem. Now, six hours later, I’ve finally found computer access and turned it in.

Hope everyone enjoyed!
~Snots

4 thoughts on “Hera’s Lullaby

  1. kiboslice says:

    4) You’d just deepened my dark green Despair
    5) Wise hands
    6) Olympus

    Like

  2. Always Hurt says:

    1.) -Distressed I looked down and Yanked out my hair
    -With every bit of Venom, the Antidote you had
    -Your deathly Poison
    -Yet wise Hands of Youth tore ‘part Death’s cold Bet.

    2.)smell of Death-Assured.

    3.) Slither

    Your poem is really good! I like how you used a baby in here but made it such a mature meaning.

    Like

  3. kiboslice says:

    1) 1. As wife was lain Slaughtered 2. Bright Flames now engulf your once sturdy figure 3.In the Cradle, sleeping sound 4. His Bright Bolt must be Hailed
    2) the smell of Death-Assured.
    3) Snakes Slither up

    Like

  4. I really like this poem and the way you implemented all of the elements we we were told to use. Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

