Inspiration

Listen to everyone. Ideas come from everywhere.

The fortune given to me for Part 2 of my book is the same as that I’m using to introduce this post. It is very true. Even the most creative people can have problems settling down and working on one thing.

I ran into my sophomore year English teacher yesterday because she was back in the building acting as a substitute. One of the teachers around long enough to teach a number of my other teachers, Mrs. Eschenbrenner knew how to keep the class both fun and frightening. She’s the one that provided us with the original prompt that led to the first part of my book and one of the people to encourage me to publish it. When I told her I was finally preparing to publish it, the nearby Spanish classes thought someone was getting murdered she squealed so loudly. To this day, I believe my best works come when I’ve been directed by someone else but given permission to do exactly as I wish. Most of my art follows this rule, and literature is no exception. It is exactly this reason that leads me to enjoy classes based around creative writing or art. Sitting here typing, I have also come to a conclusion: I feel the need to recognize the four individuals that have impacted my involvement with the arts the most in the last couple of years. A big thanks to my teachers, Mrs. Eschenbrenner and Mr. Durham, and to my friends, Jill May and Amanda Tournillon.

To close, some info on the featured picture. True to my promise of a new medium, this work is a pen-based example of typography. The design is inspired by a wooden model I pieced together in elementary school and the poem is one I had to memorize for a presentation in fifth grade (yes, I was able to write it down and craft the entire project from memory, other than a quick check for accuracy, as far as the poem goes). The poem is one written by Shel Silverstein and, for clarification from my chicken-scrawl, goes as follows:

I am the Dragon of Grindly Grun
I breathe fire as hot as the Sun.
When a knight comes to fight,
I just toast him on sight,
Like a hot, crispy cinnamon bun.

When I see a fair damsel go by,
I just sigh a fiery sigh,
And she’s baked like a ‘tater,
I think of her later,
With a romantic tear in my eye.

I am the Dragon of Grindly Grun,
But my lunches aren’t very much fun,
For I like my damsels medium-rare,
And they always come out well done.

Keep looking for inspiration and don’t forget to record what you find, whether that be in words, paint, music, or another medium! Don’t be afraid to share either; you might surprise yourself!
~Snots

One thought on “Inspiration

  1. snayls42 says:

    I dare you to stare into the dragon’s cheek: things start to change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

