Updates and Changes

Change is the only constant in life.

As a whole, I believe we can agree that impatience and a need to progress have become a large part of most of our lives. Both are natural tendencies, though one is generally referred to as good and the other bad. Shortly after I created and started posting on my own blog, I ran into another blog that was recently remodeled. Where the Wild Thinks Are described how Mica had difficulty settling on a new layout and title for her blog. at the time, I was probably on my 15th of about 20 themes for my own blog, so I couldn’t help but sympathize. In our search for the perfect layout, we expended countless hours looking around, thinking, and bouncing ideas off people. Perfection is a good goal! It may not be reasonable, but it sure works wonders in terms of inspiration. The trick is knowing when to call it quits and stop: every story has a conclusion and every painting has a final brush-stroke.

That being said, there is no rule against going back to old projects and touching them up. Some things will need fixed five years down the road, others might not have even been finished, and still others might have room for improvement after more experience has been gained. I resigned myself to my “final layout” for this blog about two weeks in, but I’ve gone back and changed two things today: my Statement and my commenting regulations. The first was in an attempt to create a bit more cohesion in the website, while the second was to fix a problem I failed to solve early on and that I began guessing at solutions for whilst collaborating on poetry posts. Now anyone that wants to comment on my posts can, though I do ask that things remain clean (and I do retain the right to remove comments that may be offensive to other readers).

Deadlines exist as both the perfect compliment and the worst enemy to advancement. While they certainly promote the urgency of certain projects, they can create a sense of finality that can harm the project in the long run. Therefore, it is important to create deadlines carefully. A deadline should never be the period at the end of a sentence of a project; they should be created with the intent of keeping something going, and therefore be worded in such a way as to promote later addition and revision of a work. This is something I am struggling with as I apply to the National Merit Finalist Competition. Many of the organizations I am listing are new to me this year and I have yet to find out their exact schedules as meetings have not begun with regularity. Everything is due by this Friday, but I’d love to wait until next semester so I could give a comprehensive listing. Plus, there is an essay to write, which is still in the working.

Wish me luck!
~Snots

Leave a Reply

