Dear Harry

To Harry and everyone he has touched: you are certainly in my thoughts and prayers. I hope everyone else will join me in offering whatever support they can.

Re-Posted from:

Renee Owens

I don’t even know where to begin.

Some of you know this, but for those who don’t, I’ll recap quickly. (this relates to the Tony situation)

My brother is a musician and was in a band growing up. Long story short, the guys in the band became family. Tony, the drummer, committed suicide this past summer. It was very hard considering he was like a brother and he was family to mine. I have a blog post on that situation called “Dear Tony” from a while back.

Tonight, I received another call from Deejay. Deejay is another one of these guys who is family also. He’s protective and so loving towards me and he holds a special place in my heart.

I was sitting at the table talking to my family and friend when Mike got a call. It was Jeff who was actually the “manager” of their old band. Mike stepped out into the garage and talked to him. Not thinking about it, the rest of us continued with our conversations. Moments later, I got a call from Deejay.

I answered and he asked, “Where’s Mike?”

“Downstairs, I think.” -I thought he went down there, not outside at the moment.

With shatterness and breaks in his voice, he said, “Harry killed himself.”

My heart absolutely dropped tonight. I was in such shock, for a second, I thought he was joking. How Deejay told me and how the call went was literally deja vu. It was a mimic of the call I had received this past summer and I did not like it.

I cannot believe that another one, from the same group of boys, took their own life. I don’t know for sure, but I think Harry was only 21, maybe 22. Tony was 23. Like the whole group, Harry was my brother. He was my protector. He was one of the nicest and most caring people that I no longer have. He was something special. Everytime we met, he gave me the biggest bear hug like I was his favorite cousin at a holiday get-together. The last time I saw him was this past August, the 15th. My brother, Mike had a welcome home party and Harry came all the way from Florida just for it. Harry was in the Airforce and was deployed in Florida. When he left the party, he gave me hug, but five minutes later, he came up to me and said, “give me another hug. I don’t know when the next time I see you will be.” The fact that that was the last time absolutely blows my mind.

It still hasn’t processed we’re going through the same thing all over again with the same people and same group of incredible guys.

I’m so heartbroken, but Harry is now free from the stress and depressive thoughts he battled with.

Forever and always, I’ll love you Harry, my brother.

Leave a Reply

