Convergence: An Edited Paragraph on a Photograph

It is said that every action has the potential to impact any and all objects, beings, and locations from that point forward. Likewise, nothing therefore exists that is not related to every other aspect of existence. A perfect picture of convergence myself, I stand in simple black and white–the unassuming coloration of an orchestral musician after a concert. The bowtie around my neck perfectly complements the wing-collared tux shirt. Upon a quick glance down, however, the shimmering black material of my running shorts makes a stark contrast. I’ve just recently left the stage after the year’s last performance, and the tux provided by the school has been returned to the closet where it came from. Waiting in the school commons, my freshly exposed legs have begun to stiffen in the cool air of the still warming season, despite having known greater cold on the countless runs surrounding the school. I start to look around, searching for any familiar face among the writhing mass of unfamiliar bodies. It is then that the familiar bitter taste creeps across my tongue as I face, once again, the still fresh wound left by the departure of two close friends almost a year prior. I force myself to look inside then move on, admitting their undeniable impact on me and hoping my own presence lingers even fractionally as strong before I shift to reflect on the day’s activities. Chemistry, Calculus, and Physics. The three sciences that start my daily adventure are seamlessly united in my mind. Cross country, orchestra, and drawing. A trio of extracurriculars round out the day as they bring in peaceful closure. From people to places to things, the variety in the world is overwhelming. But to me, they come together. For me, they converge within a single being.

Leave a Reply

