Media and Young Adults

To those still waiting on the months-late workout, it is coming, but I need to find time to type out explanations to the workouts: my computer wouldn’t connect to the internet for the last week or so that I was home for winter, then the semester quickly got away from me. I’m proud to report now that classes are mostly going well, and this weekend brought a successful performance of a murder mystery dinner I adapted and helped perform for our chapter of Engineers Without borders. Last week though, I had the chance to write a short report on one of my favorite songs – “No Such Thing” by John Mayer – and I felt it fell in line with some things I have shared here as it was a reflection piece on media and development for my Growth and Development class. Anyway, here it is:

John Mayer’s song, “No Such Thing” is written about the rejection of the streamlined lives we are taught to live as young adults looking to complete school and head into the “real world.” In it, he refers to how parents, teachers, and other adults constantly demand we “plot [life] out in black and white” and “stay inside the lines.” Unfortunately, life is not black and white. I first heard the song driving home after competing in the state track meet senior year, and found it ironic because of the way Mayer criticized the high school of his past, just as I had fought against my school and parents in an attempt to find my own way in a heavily regulated society based on the sculpted, time-based hierarchy of experience that contradicts the much more fluid nature of human comparison. Driving home, and moving on into the summer as I prepared for college, I took inspiration from the song and began to look forward once again to living my life at my own pace, and attempting to set an example for others, just as the final verse to the song suggests leading by an example of freedom.

Now you should all go listen to the song to see what I’m talking about!

Until Next Time
~Snots

Leave a Reply

